India Rupee, Indian Currency, INR

The Indian Rupee (International Currency Code: INR) is the official currency in India. Reserve Bank of India (RBI) controls the issue of the currency. Rs. is the common symbol for INR. One Rupee is equal to 100 paise. The singular for paise is paisa. Sometimes it is referred to as the Naya (new) Paisa.

Rupee is derived from the root Sanskrit word Rupyakam - meaning a silver coin. Most Indians will understand 'Rupee', though local languages might have different words for the currency.


Language  Name for Rupee
Local language name for the Indian Rupee INR
 Assamese  Toka
 Bengali  Taka
 Gujarati  Rupiyo
 Hindi  Rupaya
 Kannada  Rupayi
 Malayalam  Roopa
 Marathi  Rupaye
 Oriya  Tongka
 Tamil  Roobai, Roopai, Rubai
 Telugu  Rupayi


Common Indian Currency Notes and Coins - Indian Rupee Notes and Coins

INR - Indian Rupee Currency Notes and Coins - Image



Indian Rupee coins in circulation now are 25 paise, 50 paise, 1 Rupee, 2 Rupees, 5 Rupees and 10 Rupees.  The old 1 paisa, 2 paise, 5 paise and 10 paise coins are not in circulation anymore. Most people do not use the 25 paise coin any more.


Common currency notes are 5 Rupees, 10 Rupees, 20 Rupees, 50 Rupees, 100 Rupees, 500 Rupees and 1000 Rupees. It is difficult to find 1 and 2 rupee notes now.


All major  Indian cities have easily accessible Automatic Teller Machines. All towns and cities have many banks where you can change Travellers checks, US Dollar, Euro and other currencies. Credit cards are widely accepted in all cities, usually for amounts greater than Rs. 250 or so.

Here is the alphabetical  list of all the major banks in India, with links to the respective bank website.

List of banks in India

Commercial Banks


Abu Dhabi Commercial Bank Ltd.

American Express Bank Ltd.

Arab Bangladesh Bank Limited

Allahabad Bank

Andhra Bank

Antwerp Diamond Bank N.V.

Bank Internasional Indonesia

Bank of America N.A.

Bank of Bahrain & Kuwait BSC

Barclays Bank Plc


Bank of Ceylon

Bank of Baroda

Bank of India

Bank of Maharashtra

Canara Bank

Central Bank of India

Calyon Bank

Citibank N.A.

Cho Hung Bank

Chinatrust Commercial Bank Ltd.

City Union Bank Ltd.

Coastal Local Area Bank Ltd.

Corporation Bank

Catholic Syrian Bank Ltd.

Deutsche Bank AG

Development Credit Bank Ltd.

Dena Bank

IndusInd Bank Limited


IDBI Bank Limited

Indian Bank

Indian Overseas Bank

Industrial Development Bank of India

ING Vysya Bank

J P Morgan Chase Bank, National Association

Krung Thai Bank Public Company Limited

Kotak Mahindra Bank Limited

Karnataka Bank

Karur Vysya Bank Limited.

Lord Krishna Bank Ltd.

Mashreqbank psc

Mizuho Corporate Bank Ltd.

Oman International Bank S A O G

Oriental Bank of Commerce

Punjab & Sind Bank

Punjab National Bank

Societe Generale

Sonali Bank

Standard Chartered Bank

State Bank of Mauritius Ltd.

SBI Commercial and International Bank Ltd.

State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur

State Bank of Hyderabad

State Bank of India

State Bank of Indore

State Bank of Mysore

State Bank of Patiala

State Bank of Saurashtra

State Bank of Travancore

Syndicate Bank

The Bank of Nova Scotia

The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi, Ltd.

The Development Bank of Singapore Ltd. (DBS Bank Ltd.)

The Hongkong & Shanghai Banking Corporation Ltd.

Tamilnad Mercantile Bank Ltd.

The Bank of Rajasthan Limited

The Dhanalakshmi Bank Limited.

The Federal Bank Ltd.

The HDFC Bank Ltd.

The Jammu & Kashmir Bank Ltd.

The Nainital Bank Ltd.

The Sangli Bank Ltd.

The South Indian Bank Ltd.

The Ratnakar Bank Ltd.

The Lakshmi Vilas Bank Ltd

UCO Bank

UTI Bank Ltd.

Union Bank of India

United Bank Of India

Vijaya Bank

Yes Bank

Financial Institutions

National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development

Export-Import Bank of India

National Housing Bank

Small Industries Development Bank of India

Industrial Investment Bank of India Ltd.

North Eastern Development Finance Corporation